My Hair Story

So I did something pretty ballsy last weekend (for me anyway). I cut my hair off. Well not all of it, but I cut 6 inches off. Now I know some people reading this will be like … and? But my hair is something I’ve always been a tad fussy over. From a young age I’ve always piled in the hair extensions in a bid to have long, thick, luxurious hair and I guess I just got to a point where I was like, no more!

My hair story:

My hair has always frustrated me, for as long as I can remember. It’s always been a little on the thin side, and has the annoying tendency to grow as far as my boobs and then stop and die. I mean, I probably didn’t help myself by back combing the absolute crap out of my hair when I was 14/15 (major regrets), this not only made me look like I was carrying a birds nest on my head, but also pulled a tonne of my hair out in the process. I remember I used to go around 4 days without brushing my hair, you know, just to try and get that nest to its optimum nestiness. There were a lot of people who were caught in the backcombing phenomenon, and thinking back, what the bloody hell were we all thinking?! I used to put the brush at the end of my hair and run it up my hair right until I reached my head. If I think about doing that now it makes me cringe.

After my backcombing days were over, I went for a change and got my hair cut short. This was around 4 years ago. I remember this experience pretty distinctively as I was pretty much holding back the tears the entire time. Cutting my hair short was a big deal for me, as I’ve already mentioned, all I’d ever wanted was long, thick hair. Have you ever had your hair cut by someone, who just gets that little bit too scissor happy? This is what happened to me. She just kept cutting and cutting and cutting until it was waaaay shorter than I wanted it. I remember when she had finished it and I looked in the mirror and my eyes just filled with tears. I really disliked it. I did however warm to it slightly when I got home and styled it myself. I had this hair for maybe half a year before I started clipping back in the extensions, dreaming of having the long hair I’d never have.

On the topic of extensions, I realised how much clip ins were damaging my hair and so starting researching alternatives. Having permanent extensions was off my radar as I know the thinning affect they can have on your hair. It was then that I came across Halo Hair. Now, if anyone out there is religious with their hair extensions, then these are the ones for you. It’s essentially hair on a wire that sits on your head like a headband. You basically part your hair in a half up half down way, sit your halo on your head, let you hair down and pull any other bits over the top of it. It’s really hard to explain, but there’s a video example on their website! Mine lasted me for 2 whole years, and so for £100, that’s pretty good going.

I’d been wearing my halo hair right up until the day before I got my hair cut short. I’d managed to keep it looking in good quality by trimming the frazzled ends off. I also only wore it on weekends when I went out, day-to-day at work I didn’t bother with it. The problem was I started to get increasingly annoyed, because I wanted to like my hair everyday, not just when I added twice the amount of hair through my Halo Hair. I thought about getting it cut short for a while, but the experience last time with getting it cut was majorly putting me off. However, after a few weeks of umming and ahhing, and looking back at old photos of it short on the daily, I booked my appointment before I could change my mind. 

I’ve always had a phobia of hairdressers, just like some people do with the dentist. I think it’s down to always having bad experiences at them. I sat there that day and told her I wanted a blunt cut and I wanted my hair sitting on my shoulders. She cut the first big section off at the back, and then came around to the sides of my head, and it all fell on my lap. I was twiddling it in my fingers wondering if I’d made the right decision, I’d been trying to grow my hair for literally the longest time. I also don’t think it’s easy when your staring back at yourself with wet hair that’s stuck to your face…not a good look.

I think it’s so scary because cutting your hair is completely irreversible, and when your hair grows 1cm every 3 months, it’s gotta be worth it! Anyway, coming to the end of my hair story, I bloomin’ love my new hair! It’s probably one of the best decisions I’ve made to have it cut short. I’m not sure what’s different to last time I had it cut short, maybe because this time it’s a blunt cut and I like the way it sits? I’m not so sure, all I am sure about is I no longer crave the long, thick hair I’ve always wanted. Always go with your gut people!!

Abs


6 thoughts on “My Hair Story

  1. As I said before girly you look gorgeous!! It really suits you. It’s crazy how similar we are – when I was 14/15 I backcombed the hell out of my hair – the bird nest style was really in!! My hair was dead, dry and frazzled and I used to carry a comb around with me everywhere in my pocket, everyone at school used to make a joke about it (not in a nasty way) ’cause at the end of every lesson I’d get my comb out and backcomb my hair hahaha. I only like my long hair when I wear my extensions – they don’t add any length they just make my hair thicker but without them my hair just feels long and flat and dead (it needs a good cut) – I don’t know how people manage to have their hair trimmed every 6 weeks!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thank you so so much!! Oh my gosh yes! I would carry an Afro comb with me and backcomb with that, I’d get my mirror and that out multiple times during the day to get that volume back haha!! Yeah extensions are so addictive, once you wear them it’s hard to stop xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment